The Utah Senate Judiciary, Law Enforcement, and Criminal Justice Committee on Wednesday passed a measure creating a provisional concealed-carry license by a 4-1 vote.
HB 198 is sponsored by state Rep. Karianne Lisonbee, and would create a provisional concealed-carry license for law-abiding individuals 18 to 20 years old. This important self-defense bill will now go to the Senate floor for consideration.
This provisional license would allow those individuals to lawfully carry a firearm for self-defense. Currently, individuals 18 years of age or older are legally allowed to openly carry an unloaded firearm for self-defense in Utah, and House Bill 198 would provide them the ability to conceal and carry a loaded firearm without being in jeopardy of breaking the law.
Use Your Power!
Utah gun owners should urge their state senators to support HB 198 byclicking here.