On the last day of its legislative session, the Utah House passed HB198 63-12. The bill, which would allow 18- to 20-year-olds to apply for a provisional concealed-carry permit, now heads to Gov. Gary Herbert’s desk for consideration.
The measure’s sponsor, Republican state Rep. Karianne Lisonbee, said she introduced the legislation after a group of women approached her about their desire to protect themselves from rape, especially on college campuses. The legal age for open carry in Utah is 18, but since most campuses don’t allow open carry, those under 21 are effectively disarmed during their undergraduate careers—a time at which the Justice Department states that 20 to 25 percent of women will be the victims of a completed or attempted rape.
Use Your Power!
Law-abiding 18- to 20-year-olds have proven they are responsible while carrying openly. HB198 would fix a loophole under which those same individuals are disarmed while on college and university campuses, giving them a greater chance to ward off attackers. Please contact Gov. Herbert and encourage him to sign this important legislation into law by clicking here.